SOOS Regional Working Groups



  • Co-ordinate and implement the observing system in their region, bringing together efforts in planning, logistics and resources, through to data management and access.
  • Work with circumpolar observing programs and projects to ensure coverage, facilitate logistics and resource sharing.



Existing Regional Working Groups

Southern Ocean Indian Sector (SOIS)

West Antarctic Peninsula and Scotia Arc (WAP)

Ross Sea (Ross)

Weddell Sea and Dronning Maud Land (WS-DML)

Amundsen and Bellingshausen Sector (Amundsen)

SOOS Regional Working Groups are open to anyone interested to be involved.


Propose a new Regional Working Groups

The Southern Ocean community has identified five priority regions for development as Regional Working Groups (see map above). If you are interested to propose a new Regional Working Group, follow the process outlined here and download the Regional Working Groups proposal template here.

Copyright 2015 Southern Ocean Observing System. All rights reserved.